AFA 2017 National Adviser Conference

Charlie Fraser Wins 2017 AFA Adviser of the Year

The AFA has concluded its National Adviser Conference by naming Queensland adviser Charlie Fraser, of Shadforth Financial Group, as the 2017 AFA Adviser of the Year.

Charlie Fraser

Charlie Fraser

Fraser, who is based in Brisbane, received his Award at the traditional gala dinner marking the end of this year’s AFA National Adviser Conference on the Gold Coast, and was chosen for the award ahead of finalists Glen James of Fortify Financial and Julia SchortinghuisLighthouse Capital.

AFA Chief Executive, Phil Kewin said Fraser represented what it meant to be a leader in the advice sector and was “…delivering genuinely life-changing advice to so many ordinary Australians, people who, given the current landscape, really need it.”

The AFA Adviser of the Year Award is now in its fifteenth year and is a joint initiative between the AFA and Zurich, which is also a supporter of the AFA Practice of the Year Award, which is now in its fourth year.

Previous winners of the AFA Adviser of the Year Award, sponsored by Zurich since its inception in 2003, are:

2016 – Darren Johns, NSW

2015 – David Reed, NSW

2014 – Eleanor Dartnall, NSW

2013 – Jenny Brown, Vic

2012 – Olivia Maragna, Qld

2011 – Troy MacMillan, WA

2010 – Steve Salvia, WA

2009 – Graham Campbell, Qld

2008 – Paul Daily, Qld and Adam Smith, WA

2007 – Philip Young, NSW

2006 – Troy Edmondson, Qld

2005 – Jim Taggart, NSW

2004 – Brian Boggs, NSW

2003 – Bernie Toohey, Vic

Zurich Life and Investments Chief Executive, Tim Bailey said the company’s support of the Award helped advanced the profession.

“A vibrant, growing, respected financial advice profession is vital to the wellbeing of everyday Australians, and we believe that by showcasing and sharing the best practices exhibited by all our finalists, Zurich can help the profession advance with confidence.”