AFA 2018 National Adviser Conference

Hugh Robertson Wins 2018 AFA Adviser of the Year

The AFA has closed its National Adviser Conference by naming Queensland adviser Hugh Robertson of Centaur Financial Services as the 2018 AFA Adviser of the Year.

AFA/Zurich 2018 Adviser of Year, Hugh Robertson

Robertson, who is based on the Gold Coast, received his Award at the conference’s gala dinner and was chosen for the award ahead of finalists Tom Dawe of Capital Focused and Elliot Watson of Elliot Watson Financial Planning.

The AFA Adviser of the Year Award is now in its sixteenth year and is a joint initiative between the AFA and Zurich, which is also a supporter of the AFA Practice of the Year Award (see: TWD Australia Named as 2018 Practice of the Year).

Nominees for the Adviser of the Year Award are submitted to a rigorous assessment process and, among a range of factors, are judged for the contribution they make to improving the financial literacy of their clients and their community.

Robertson said he entered the Award to go through the process but did not expect to win but believed it was important to test his advice during a time of pressure for the advice sector.

Previous winners of the AFA Adviser of the Year Award, sponsored by Zurich since its inception in 2003, are:

2017 – Charlie Fraser, Qld

2016 – Darren Johns, NSW

2015 – David Reed, NSW

2014 – Eleanor Dartnall, NSW

2013 – Jenny Brown, Vic

2012 – Olivia Maragna, Qld

2011 – Troy MacMillan, WA

2010 – Steve Salvia, WA

2009 – Graham Campbell, Qld

2008 – Paul Daily, Qld and Adam Smith, WA

2007 – Philip Young, NSW

2006 – Troy Edmondson, Qld

2005 – Jim Taggart, NSW

2004 – Brian Boggs, NSW

2003 – Bernie Toohey, Vic