AFA Adviser, Practice of the Year Finalists Announced

The AFA has announced the names of the finalists in this year’s AFA Adviser of the Year and Practice of the Year Awards.

The AFA made the announcement in conjunction with Zurich, which has been a supporter of the Award since it was first launched as a joint initiative between the two groups in 2003, as well as supporting the Practice of the Year Award which began four years ago.

The finalists for the 2017 Adviser of the Year Award are:

Charlie Fraser, Shadforth Financial Group, QLD
Glen James
Glen James, Fortify Financial, NSW
Julia Schortinghuis, Lighthouse Capital, WA

…and the finalists for the 2017 Practice of the Year Award are:

Nominees for the Adviser of the Year Award, now in its 15th year, are judged for the contribution they make to improving the financial literacy of their clients and their community.

The Practice of the Year Award  focuses on businesses with outstanding processes and delivering a consistent level of high quality advice to their clients through a unique service proposition.

AFA Chief Executive, Phil Kewin said the Awards were ‘demanding and rigorous’ which reflected the expectations of consumers.

“Every finalist has invested in themselves and their business, and to reach this stage of the judging process is an achievement in itself. Not to mention all of those who are striving to be the best, who did not make this year’s finalist list,” Kewin said.

“They should be all very proud, and I congratulate them all for their commitment. When looking at those representing our profession, we certainly have a lot to be proud of,” he said.

Zurich Life & Investments Chief Executive, Tim Bailey said the standard of finalists was exceptional and showed how quality advice could be made accessible and improve the reputation of the profession.

“In the face of technological disruption, intense regulator and media scrutiny and heightened consumer expectations, these are the advisers and advice practices who are truly taking the advice profession forward,” Bailey said.

The winners of both Awards will be announced at a gala event on the final night of the AFA National Conference on the Gold Coast on 13th October.

  • Ken

    Pardon my ignorance how do you get nominated would not mind getting my head in here done a bit over 40 years would not mind explaining what advice was about in the 80s when there were no awards or financial benefits just a true belief in making a difference to people’s lives not how much technology we can instal
    Please feel free to tell me
    Regards a crusty old puritan